Mike Gerwitz

Activist for User Freedom

Congratulations to the 2012 Free Software Award Winners


Each year, the Free Software Foundation presents awards to individuals who have made a strong contribution to free software:

The Award for the Advancement of Free Software is given annually to an individual who has made a great contribution to the progress and development of free software, through activities that accord with the spirit of free software.

This year, announced at the LibrePlanet 2013 conference, the winner was Dr. Fernando Perez—creator of IPython. The winner of the Award for Projects of Social Benefit was OpenMRS, which is a free (as in freedom) medical records system for developing countries.